Wellness Gifts

I’ve come to an interesting stage in my life. Although I still feel young in many ways, I’m also experiencing changes in my health that indicate the fact that I’m officially aging! Although it can be unpleasant sometimes, I’ve decided to take a very proactive approach to making this year, and all of the rest of my years, the best I can possibly make them.  People all around me, my age, are battling cancer, heart disease, and other serious maladies, so life has become even more precious to me.

Although I’ve never been too interested in blogs, the decision to plunge into this realm of communication results from a simple, yet compelling desire to share lots of positive life experiences, skills, strategies, and more with as many interested folks as possible.  At the risk of seeming pretentious, I feel that I’ve lived a full life already, so it’s time to start sharing the gifts I’ve been given, for whatever they’re worth.

What is wellness? I think it touches every area of life.

1. the quality or state of being healthy in body and mind [finances, relationships, home, personal time–my addition to definition], especially as the result of deliberate effort.
2. an approach to healthcare that emphasizes preventing illness and prolonging life, as opposed to emphasizing treating diseases.

My intent is to write about wellness from a perspective that can make positive changes feasible for most people.  My hope is that anyone so inclined will join me in a discussion. After all, I do not profess to be any kind of expert, but I’ve worked and studied diligently in all areas of wellness in my life, and have achieved some meaningful results (always a work in progress).

Some things I will be sharing: Quick, tasty, healthy recipes; structured goal setting; basic exercise and nutrition principles; weight loss resources, tips and strategies; growing food (and maybe catching it); ideas for stress reduction; coping strategies for grief; staying organized; positive parenting resources; wise food and consumer choices; living green; tricks for overcoming sleeplessness; dealing with challenging relationships; even dog training?! ; interpersonal conflict resolution/communication; debt reduction; ….the whole nine yards, and then some, I guess!

Leave a Reply

